TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL (VIRTUAL MEETING)

27 JANUARY 2021

PRESENT

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Chris Boyes), in the Chair.

D. Acton S. Adshead A. Akinola Dr. K. Barclay J. Bennett Miss L. Blackburn J. E. Brophy B. Brotherton D. Bunting D. Butt T. Carey Dr. S. Carr K.G. Carter R. Chilton C.H. Churchill G. Coggins	J. Dillon N. Evans M. Freeman Mrs. D.L. Haddad J. Harding B. Hartley C. Hynes D. Jarman D. Jerrome J. Lloyd S. Longden M. Minnis A. Mitchell D. Morgan P. Myers A. New	E. Patel K. Procter S.B. Procter T. Ross J. Slater S. Taylor S. Thomas R. Thompson M.J. Welton A. Western D. Western G. Whitham A.M. Whyte A.J. Williams J.A. Wright Mrs. P. Young
G. Coggins M. Cordingley	A. New J.D. Newgrosh	Mrs. P. Young

In attendance

Chief Executive Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy	S. Todd J. Le Fevre
Corporate Director of Strategy and Resources Assistant Director Corporate Strategy and Policy	S. Saleh
Governance Manager	D. Geary J. Addison
Governance Officer Senior Governance Officer	A. Murray I. Cockill

APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from the Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor L. Walsh and Councillors S.B. Anstee, J. Holden, P. Lally, J. Lamb, B. Rigby, B. Shaw, E.W. Stennett and B.G. Winstanley.

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council 27 January 2021

40. CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy submitted a report proposing that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred posthumously on former Councillors Jane Baugh and Raymond Bowker MBE.

The report advised that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided for the Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members.

The Leaders of the Political groups on the Council were especially honoured to support a Motion to confer the honour of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillors Baugh and Bowker and paid tribute to their efforts and outstanding contributions on behalf of Trafford and the communities they had served. Members of the Council were privileged to speak in support of the Motion and expressed fond memories of the former Councillors.

The late Jane Baugh represented Broadheath ward from 1990-2004 and Priory ward from 2004 onwards until her death as a serving Councillor in January 2020. She served as the Borough's Mayor in 2011/12 and raised more than £26,000 for a number of charities including The Stroke Association, Parkinson's UK, Altrincham General Hospital's League of Friends, Trafford Stroke Support Group, the Alex Hulme Foundation and Trafford Carers' Centre. During her time as a Councillor she served several terms as an Executive Member for Children's Services and Culture and Leisure portfolios and also served as a Shadow Executive Member. Her particular passion was for Arts and Culture, the Waterside Arts Centre, Music and Children's Services. In addition to her Councillor role, she was appointed to Council outside bodies including meetings of AGMA. Jane served as vice chair of Sale Festival, and was a member of the Friends of Worthington Park and the Friends of Walkden Gardens. She stood twice as an MP in Altrincham and Sale West. Given Jane's many years of service and significant contribution to the borough of Trafford, she was exceptionally worthy of the honour.

The late Ray Bowker MBE served on the Council for over 42 years since Trafford's inception in 1973 to 1976 and then uninterrupted from 1980 until his death as a serving Councillor in January 2020. He was the Borough's Mayor during the millennium year and raised more than £71,000 for two local charities, Trafford Young Carers Project and Trafford Crossroads, during this time. Ray represented Village ward in Timperley and was the Liberal Democrat Group Leader for many years. In 2002 Ray was awarded an MBE for a lifetime of service to the community. He had a long and distinguished local government career, serving on a whole host of Council Committees and was known for his great passions, Timperley, Trafford and the welfare of young people. He was a lifelong Timperley resident, and served on many school governing bodies including his former school Wellington and was Chair of Governors at Broomwood Primary School in Timperley. He also served for more than 40 years in the Boys Brigade, 7th Altrincham Company at Timperley Methodist Church. Ray was described as a "giant in Trafford politics". With the significant years of service and contribution

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council 27 January 2021

within Trafford, as well as his passion for his community Ray was extraordinarily worthy of the honour.

Having been moved, seconded and supported, the Motion was unanimously agreed by the Council and it was, therefore:-

RESOLVED: That, being of the opinion that former Councillor Jane Baugh and former Councillor Raymond Bowker MBE, have rendered eminent services as past members of the Council, the Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, hereby confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillor Jane Baugh and former Councillor Raymond Bowker MBE, in recognition of their exceptional service to the Borough of Trafford.

The Council was pleased that Jane's husband Dr. Baugh and Ray's wife Hazel and son Neil had been present and Dr. Baugh and Neil Bowker each expressed gratefulness to the Council for bestowing the honour and the families' gratitude for the many kind words and affection.

On behalf of the Council, the Deputy Mayor thanked them for their words and expressed his honour at officiating the meeting where the Council had paid tribute and formerly recognised the great achievements of both former Councillors Jane Baugh and Ray Bowker MBE, as truly outstanding servants of the Borough.

The meeting commenced at 6.10 p.m. and finished at 7.04 p.m.